I can’t help but wonder what you were thinking.

Did you think I was naive?

Did you think I was shy and quiet?

Did you think I was an easy target?

You were wrong.

Did you think I wouldn’t defend my boundaries?

Did you think I wouldn’t stick up for myself?

Did you think I wouldn’t fight back?

You were wrong.

I thought of you as a friend, and you wormed your way into my life.

I thought you were a decent person, kind and good.

I thought, perhaps, that I might even like you.

I was wrong.

You were never a friend, merely a wolf in sheeps clothing.

You were never a decent person, you weren’t kind or good.

Yes, I might have liked you…for a time. But that ended as soon as you revealed yourself for the snake you truly are.

Did you think you could get away with it?

Did you think there wouldn’t be consequences?

Did you think I would let this go so easily?

You were wrong.

You took advantage of our friendship.

You took advantage of the turmoils in my life.

You took advantage of not just me, but others as well.

You have infected my life, and now I need to cleanse it…before the infection spreads.

You have already infected me with fear, and now you have infected my dreams…what more will you take from me?

How much longer till you are satisfied?

Enough.

I will not let you take anymore from me.

Enough.

I will not let the memories plague me anymore.

I will not let this unfounded guilt consume me.

I will not let the “What If’s” run my life.

Because that is exactly what it is…it’s MY life.

I will not let you take any more of it away from me.

I will not let the memories plague me any longer.

I will not let the unfounded guilt consume me anymore.

I will not let these regrets and “What If’s” run my life ever again.

You are now in the past, and I am done looking back.

You will never be a part of my life again, and I can’t wait for my life to finally begin again.

Leave a Reply

